It’s all in the name.. Mama’s Daughters’ Diner

 

IMG_1815We recently went to Mama’s Daughters’ Diner in Plano. I had never heard of this restaurant, but I loved it.  It had an old fashioned diner feel to it, imprinted with Mama sayings everywhere.IMG_1825

Ashley and I sat down and our waitress was there right away. She was very energetic and knew the menu well (so wished I had a photo of her). It was like we had known her for a long time. She was so friendly, and I noticed that she kept touching my arm (not in a weird way) every time she walked away. It was her way of showing friendship. She was doing that with all of her tables. It was like your high school best friend. This drove me into a conversation with Ashley about “love” languages. We guessed that her love language was physical touch. It was obvious. So we began to talk about our own love language and try and guess what the others would be. It was a fun little game. I knew what Ashley’s was right away (I also knew what it wasn’t). Hers are (in order) Acts of service, Quality time,  Words of Affirmation, Receiving gifts, and Physical touch.  My order is Quality time, Words of affirmation, Acts of service, Physical touch, and Receiving gifts.  Outside of Quality time, the rest of the languages are pretty equal.  Those that know me know that I am a touchy person too. When I talk I touch-it’s just one of those things. Back to Mama’s Daughters’,  Ashley ordered the breakfast chicken fried chicken that came with two amazing looking biscuits. IMG_1821  Since I am temporarily gluten-free, I wasn’t able to partake in the joy of that. I had an omelette that came with hash browns. It was so good, reminded me of my mother’s omelettes. I didn’t appreciate them back then as much as I do now. IMG_1824IMG_1823

 

Speaking of moms, Ashley and I are blessed with a godly heritage from our moms. One thing I have seen from Ashley’s family is they are a family that serves. If there is a need, they are there. That is an incredibly legacy to pass on, and Ashley has jumped in on that, which is why her top love language is Acts of service.  My mom does the same, but the biggest thing I remember from my mom is teaching me the legacy of forgiveness. Her life is a storybook of how forgiveness breathes life into you and those around you. We are so thankful for great moms.  So, I asked Ashley what her favorite mom memory was. She talked about her mom always having conversations with strangers. The family always knows it’s coming; she’ll ask a question and proceed to be bestie with this stranger before the stranger even knows it. We would laugh about how the conversation starts, but as we get older, we find ourselves doing the same thing and think I’m turning into mom. She truly could be anyone’s friend, whether she knows them or not. IMG_1179 (1)

My favorite mom memory is watching her love on others. She is a servant at heart. One thing she did after she retired was to make home made birthday cakes and take them up to her office once a month to celebrate with those having birthdays. But the biggest thing I remember was taking in stray animals. We were always running down strays. For those that know me well, I am for sure my mama’s daughter.mom and me

If you are ready for some true home cookin’, Mama’s Daughters’ is your place. They have been cooking breakfast and lunch since 1958. If you are in the Plano, Dallas (Irving Blvd. original location), Irving, Lewisville or Forney area go check out Mama’s Daughters’ diner. You will be brought back in time.  It will stick with you, in a good way.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in FridayEats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

