Needle in a Haystack!

IMG_5221Haystack Burgers and Brew. I have heard people in the office talking about this restaurant, but I had no idea where it was or what they served. It is a little place nestled in strip mall in Richardson. You could miss it if you didn’t know where to look, (that’s why I have Ashley :)) kind of like a needle in a Haystack. We walked in and right away I liked this place. Very unbecoming, not fancy but had a good vibe.  We walked up to the counter and ordered. I had a hard time deciding because of the different choices. Ashley would tell you I typically fall back to the chicken sandwich at most places, but with a name like Burgers and brew I felt I had to get a burger. So, I did. I ordered the Haystack Burger that came with Haystack Onions, Cheddar Cheese, Apple Wood Smoked Bacon, Bar-B-Q, Lettuce, Tomato, & Pickles.IMG_5212 It was amazing. Ashley ordered their Hay Dawg  which is a Grilled Hot Dawg on a Challah Bun topped with Chili, Cheddar, Relish, & Haystack Onions, and we shared some fries. Although Ashley is always taking about me ordering chicken sandwiches, she is one to get a hot dog if they have it on the menu.  The burger was one of the best burgers I have ever had (and we have gone to a lot of places). Very juicy, fresh with just the right amount of condiments on it.

Side note, for those that don’t know, well this year was Ashley’s 30 birthday. July 20 to be exact. I kept trying to think of what to do for her because gift giving for Ashley can be like finding a needle in a haystack. Not because she is high maintenance, but because she likes thoughtful, thought out personal gifts. Which I know is fun, but also can be time consuming because you have to think. Ashley loves Monopoly so I decided to give her 30 gifts (don’t worry not big gifts) of things she loves using a monopoly game board as the clue for what it was. IMG_5233It has been fun ( I say has been because I am still not finished). On the first clue we went to see the movie Finding Dory, then I blindfolded her and told her we were going to a special place for our Fridayeats, only I was taking her over to the Debenports’ home for a surprise party. I know she knew something was up, but hopefully it was a fun surprise to hang out at her favorite place with some of her favorite people. I have to say I am thankful for our friendship. Even though there is a gap in years, our bond remains strong. She is like a needle in a haystack when it comes to friendship. This kind of friend is hard to find but when you do you know it’s true. Let’s get back to Haystack.

Ashley and I both got a cranberry pineapple cider. That was really good! It was very refreshing and just the right amount of sweet.IMG_5217 Ashley likes unique things and when we were paying our bill, she noticed a pretty cool Growler and had to buy it.IMG_4784 We enjoyed another day of outside eating before the weather got too hot, and we’re entertained by a precious dog with its owner eating outside as well.  I would say if you are in the Richardson area, you want to check out Haystack Burger and brew. They have a good menu,  it’s a fun place, with great food and great brew! Nothing better than celebrating a milestone like turning 30 with great friends and family and with good food and drinks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

